Happy Mothers Day!

I will wax neither melodramatic nor sad on this Mothers Day, despite the fact that it obviously makes me think of my amazing, beautiful, strong (and sometimes argumentative and infuriatingly smothering, if I’m being honest) mom, Sharon. She passed away too soon when I was 28, and I desperately miss her sometimes daily calls, gazillion care packages (containing cookies, clothes I would never wear, strange pajamas and kitchen utensils), the beautiful music she made and even her regular complaints about the things my dad did to frustrate her. (One of the last things I remember sending her over the edge was the funny-looking fisherman’s hat from Hot Springs Village, AR he insisted on wearing while mowing the lawn.)

 

There are many things I could say right now, but I am going to keep it simple. In the spirit of the day, I just want to share some of my favorite photos of my mom and me (and sometimes my sister) throughout our earliest years. I think the fact that I have very few family photos with her in them after a certain point in history is because she would do almost anything to avoid being in photos (a practice I have come to adopt myself), and as we all got older, it got easier to avoid them. When I was about five and we were all in Arizona at the family cabin, and I was sitting on her lap, I actually remember her physically throwing me at my uncle in a defensive move while he was making home videos, so she could distract him and also run away more quickly to avoid being seen.

 

Mom1967

MomJuliaKristin1976

juliekristinmom1977 (2)

MomandMe1977

MomJulieKristin1978

Easter1981

FamilyPhoto1996

photo-2 (2)

JulieSharon Recital 1998

MomandMe1981

Happy Mothers Day to all!

About juliarogers4

Julia L. Rogers is an accomplished writer, editor and storyteller who believes wholeheartedly in the power of language to capture life’s most extraordinary moments and ideas. She uses it to forge intensely-personal, meaningful connections between people and colorful perspectives.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 112 other followers

Follow Julia on Twitter

