A Late Spring 2013 Update

I’ve been pretty busy lately working on all kinds of wonderfully-challenging projects, but I wanted to take a breath to jot down some highlights of a few things I’ll be doing in the next month.

 

1.  When checking out music by and fun facts about new (or old) artists I like, I get endlessly frustrated by all those who have bios on their websites, etc. that are not doing them any favors. (And it actually makes me regularly wonder if I’ve missed some really great music as a result of being turned off by a particularly-terrible blurb or bio.) Inspired by my outrage, I wrote an article last week for the Musician Coaching site called Biggest Bio F&*k-Ups that offers a little collection of mistakes to avoid when writing about yourself. Check it out … and enjoy the irreverent photos!

 

2.  I’m co-sponsoring an awesome event on June 12, 6 p.m. at Top of the Garden in Manhattan with some other local businesses and individuals for the NYC Toasted Almonds networking group for professionals in creative industries. It’s my first time sponsoring anything, and I’m excited to be a part of this thriving community that gets together several times per year to shoot the breeze, drink, eat and potentially find ways to collaborate on creative projects. If you are a creative professional of any type living and working in NYC, you should definitely get involved. Their events are always well attended by people that are fun to talk to. (Plus, they’re laid back, so if you’ve had bad experiences with “stuffy” networking groups in the past that don’t feel like a fit for your personality, as I have, you’ll enjoy this.) Event registration is here.

 

3.  In conjunction with the Toasted Almonds June event, I will also be offering a special promotion for my services good through the month of July that will be announced tomorrow on the Toasted Almonds Tiny Couch page. (Tiny Couch is a cool little company that helps people build self-maintainable websites.) Stay tuned to http://toastedalmondsonthetinycouch.com/ for details!

 

That’s definitely enough self-promotion for now! I’m hoping for a little extra time so I can put together a personal post soon!

About juliarogers4

Julia L. Rogers is an accomplished writer, editor and storyteller who believes wholeheartedly in the power of language to capture life’s most extraordinary moments and ideas. She uses it to forge intensely-personal, meaningful connections between people and colorful perspectives.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 112 other followers

Follow Julia on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

