“The Daily Routine of Famous Writers”

“A writer takes earnest measures to secure his solitude and then finds endless ways to squander it.”

That quote from Don Delillo (one of my favorite post modernists) made me laugh out loud. And reading the rest of a post I discovered this morning on one of my favorite sites, Brain Pickings was so full of other excuses, passions, habits, diligences and other oddities of the writer’s life that I felt compelled to offer a link here and say something quick about it.

bradbury_writer

Seeing how the strange ways I set up my own life so I can write overlap in so many ways with some of my favorite writers (all of whom I consider to be far more brilliant than I could ever hope to aspire to be) in The Daily Routines of Famous Writers gave me confirmation that I really am doing what I love and was born to do  … and hope that I will continue to get better at it as my life progresses. This collection of writerly thoughts also calls attention to the fact that we writers can be a finicky and obsessive bunch, always searching for that usually-unattainable, “perfect” creative environment that will incubate our finest work.

(Also, check out the amazing photo of Jack Kerouac, looking very Don Drapery, but in a casual way. I almost cannot be convinced that was taken in 1956.)

About juliarogers4

Julia L. Rogers is an accomplished writer, editor and storyteller who believes wholeheartedly in the power of language to capture life’s most extraordinary moments and ideas. She uses it to forge intensely-personal, meaningful connections between people and colorful perspectives.

2 responses to ““The Daily Routine of Famous Writers”

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 112 other followers

Follow Julia on Twitter

