Happy Monday Quotes #10: Speed

I realized that I missed a week of Happy Monday quotes, because my life has been moving way too fast. (And I am starting a few new projects today that I’m excited about, so I am lacking time to wax in any way philosophical.) And there are quite a few interesting changes happening to me otherwise as well, leaving all elements of my world looking very different from its appearance two weeks ago. Therefore, I decided that an appropriate topic today is “speed.”

 

“… I’m starting to see how as time gains momentum my choices will narrow and their foreclosures multiply exponentially until I arrive at some point on some branch of all life’s sumptuous branching complexity at which I am finally locked in and stuck on one path and time speeds me through stages of stasis and atrophy and decay until I go down for the third time, all struggle for naught, drowned by time. It is dreadful. But since it’s my own choices that’ll lock me in, it seems unavoidable–if I want to be any kind of grownup, I have to make choices and regret foreclosures and try to live with them.” — David Foster Wallace (from A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again)

 

“Flying isn’t fast enough, not fast enough for us. We want to get there faster. Get where? Wherever we are not. But a human soul can go only as fast as a man can walk, they used to say. In that case, where are all the souls? Left behind. They wander here and there, slowly, dim lights flickering in the marshes at night, looking for us. But they’re not nearly fast enough, not for us, we’re way ahead of them, they’ll never catch up. That’s why we can go so fast: our souls don’t weigh us down.” — Margaret Atwood (from Bottle)

About juliarogers4

Julia L. Rogers is an accomplished writer, editor and storyteller who believes wholeheartedly in the power of language to capture life’s most extraordinary moments and ideas. She uses it to forge intensely-personal, meaningful connections between people and colorful perspectives.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 112 other followers

Follow Julia on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

